“Women are leaders everywhere you look—from the CEO who runs a Fortune 500 company to the housewife who raises her children and heads her household. Our country was built by strong women, and we will continue to break down walls and defy stereotypes.”

Nancy Pelosi

International Women’s Day is celebrated on March 8 every year. It is a day when the world comes together to appreciate womanhood and their importance in society. The day also celebrates the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women.

International women’s day is celebrated to pay tribute, to pay regard to all the forms of women. this day was originally called the working women’s day but then it is named women’s day. this day was first celebrated on 28th february 1909 in new york which was organized by the socialist party of america. then in 1910, the international women’s conference was organized in which, socialists were impressed by the american socialists and proposed the establishment of international women’s day to appreciate the love and sacrifices of women all over the world.

It was on this day that women in Soviet Russia gained the right the vote in 1917, hence March 8 was declared a national holiday for them. The United Nations General Assembly invited member states to proclaim March 8 as the UN Day for women’s rights and world peace in 1977.

International Women’s Day has a rich history. It emerged from the activities of labour movements in North America and Europe at the turn of the 20th century. The first National Women’s Day was observed in the United States on February 28, 1909, to honour the 1908 garment workers’ strike in New York. In 1917, women in Russia protested and went on strike for ‘Bread and Peace,’ ultimately leading to women’s suffrage in Russia.

International Women’s Day also provides an opportunity to celebrate women’s contributions to society, including their roles in the workplace, politics, science, arts, and culture. The day encourages individuals and organisations to promote women’s empowerment, raise awareness of women’s issues, and advocate for gender equality.

Theme

The theme for International Women’s Day 2023, “Embrace Equity”, highlights the critical difference between equity and equality. While equality means giving everyone the same resources and opportunities, equity recognises that each person has different circumstances and allocates the resources and opportunities needed to reach an equal outcome. The International Women’s Day website emphasises that equity is not just a nice-to-have but a must-have in every society’s DNA.

History

International Women’s Day has a rich history. It emerged from the activities of labour movements in North America and Europe at the turn of the 20th century. The first National Women’s Day was observed in the United States on February 28, 1909, to honour the 1908 garment workers’ strike in New York. In 1917, women in Russia protested and went on strike for ‘Bread and Peace,’ ultimately leading to women’s suffrage in Russia.

Significance

The significance of International Women’s Day lies in its ability to raise awareness about the importance of gender equality and to inspire action towards achieving it. It serves as a reminder of the progress made in advancing women’s rights and the work that still needs to be done to address gender-based discrimination, inequality, and violence.

MINISTRY OF WOMEN & CHILD DEVELOPMENT

1) Ministry of Women and Child Development : https://wcd.nic.in/

2) Contact Us ( https://wcd.nic.in/contactus ) – Telephone Directory -Who’s Who ( https://wcd.nic.in/about-us/whos-who )

3) Feedback Form : https://wcd.nic.in/feedback

4) Whats New : https://wcd.nic.in/whats-new

5) Schemes : Mission POSHAN 2.0 ( Anganwadi Services – https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/anganwadi-services ; Scheme for Adolescent Girls – https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/scheme-adolescent-girls ; POSHAN Abhiyaan – https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/poshan-abhiyaan ) ; Mission Vatsalya ( Child Protection Scheme – https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/child-protection-scheme ) ; Kishori Shakti Yojana – https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/kishori-shakti-yojana ; Mission Shakti ( Beti Bachao Beti Padhao Scheme – https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/beti-bachao-beti-padhao-scheme – https://wcd.nic.in/bbbp-schemes ; One Stop Centre Scheme – https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/one-stop-centre-scheme-1 ; Women Helpline Scheme – https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/women-helpline-scheme-2 ;SWADHAR Greh (A Scheme for Women in Difficult Circumstances) – https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/swadhar-greh-scheme-women-difficult-circumstances ; Working Women Hostel – https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/working-women-hostel ; National Creche Scheme – https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/national-creche-scheme ;Pradhan Mantri Matru Vandana Yojana – https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/pradhan-mantri-matru-vandana-yojana ;NIRBHAYA – https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/nirbhaya ;Mahila Shakti Kendras (MSK) – https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/mahila-shakti-kendras-msk ;Mahila police Volunteerss – https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/mahila-police-volunteers ; NARI SHAKTI PURASKAR – https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/nari-shakti-puraskar ; UJJAWALA : A Comprehensive Scheme for Prevention of trafficking and Rescue, Rehabilitation and Re-integration of Victims of Trafficking and Commercial Sexual Exploitation – https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/ujjawala-comprehensive-scheme-prevention-trafficking-and-rescue-rehabilitation-and-re )

6) Women Empowerment Schemes : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes-listing/2405

7)Associated Organizations – Central Adoption Resource Authority (CARA – ) ; National Commission for Women (NCW – ) ; National Commission for Protection of Child Rights (NCPCR – https://ncpcr.gov.in/ ) ; Central Social Welfare Board (CSWB – ) ; Rashtriya Mahila Kosh (RMK – https://rmk.nic.in/ ); National Institute of Public Cooperation and Child Development (NIPCCD – https://nipccd.nic.in/#gsc.tab=0 )

8) Legislation : Child related Legislation ( https://wcd.nic.in/act/2315 ) ; Women related Legislation ( https://wcd.nic.in/act/2314 ) ; Other Legislation ( https://wcd.nic.in/act/2316 )

9) Guidelines ( https://wcd.nic.in/act/2420 ) ; Policies (https://wcd.nic.in/policie )

10) Portals/Websites : ; Mission Vatsalya ( CARINGS for adoption – https://carings.nic.in/ ) ; Pradhan Mantri Matru Vandana Yojana ( https://pmmvy-cas.nic.in/backoffice/useraccount/login?ReturnUrl=%2Fbackoffice%2Fhome%2F ) ; PM CARES for Children ( https://pmcaresforchildren.in/ )

11) Report Women and/or Child related Crime : https://cybercrime.gov.in/Webform/crmcondi.aspx

12) Other Portals : Mission POSHAN 2.0 ( Poshan Abhiyaan ; ICDS Scheme ) ; Mission Vatsalya ( Child Protection Scheme ; Khoya Paya ; Trach the Missing Child ) ; Mission Shakti (Scheme for Adolescent Girls ; Sexual Harrasment at Workplace Act ) ; Internship Scheme Portal ;

13) Department of Women Development and Child Welfare – Telangana State – https://wdcw.tg.nic.in/

14) Website of State WCD / Social Welfare Departments : https://wcd.nic.in/website-state-wcd-social-welfare-departments

Some important Legislations (/Laws) and Schemes for Women & Children belonging to India

Women Related Legislation : https://wcd.nic.in/act/2314

Child Related Legislation : https://wcd.nic.in/act/2315

Women Helpline Scheme : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/women-helpline-scheme-2

One Stop Centre Scheme : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/one-stop-centre-scheme-1

NIRBHAYA : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/nirbhaya

Mahila Shakti Kendras (MSK) : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/mahila-shakti-kendras-msk

Mahila police Volunteers: https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/mahila-police-volunteers

Beti Bachao Beti Padhao Scheme : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/beti-bachao-beti-padhao-scheme

NARI SHAKTI PURASKAR : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/nari-shakti-puraskar

SWADHAR Greh (A Scheme for Women in Difficult Circumstances): https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/swadhar-greh-scheme-women-difficult-circumstances

Working Women Hostel : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/working-women-hostel

UJJAWALA : A Comprehensive Scheme for Prevention of trafficking and Rescue, Rehabilitation and Re-integration of Victims of Trafficking and Commercial Sexual Exploitation: https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/ujjawala-comprehensive-scheme-prevention-trafficking-and-rescue-rehabilitation-and-re

POSHAN Abhiyaan : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/poshan-abhiyaan

Child Protection Scheme : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/child-protection-scheme

Scheme for Adolescent Girls : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/scheme-adolescent-girls

National Creche Scheme : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/national-creche-scheme

Pradhan Mantri Matru Vandana Yojana : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/pradhan-mantri-matru-vandana-yojana

Anganwadi Services Scheme : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/anganwadi-services-scheme

Nutrition Resource Platform : https://www.nipccd.nic.in/schemes/nutrition-resource-platform-27#gsc.tab=0

Child Guidance Centre : https://www.nipccd.nic.in/schemes/child-guidance-centre-21#gsc.tab=0

Adolescent Guidance Centre: https://www.nipccd.nic.in/schemes/adolescent-guidance-centre-19#gsc.tab=0

Rashtriya Bal Kosh (National Childrens Fund) : https://www.nipccd.nic.in/schemes/national-children-fund-28#gsc.tab=0

Internship Scheme Portal : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/internship-scheme-portal

Family Counselling Centre Scheme : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/family-counselling-centre-scheme

Kishori Shakti Yojana : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/kishori-shakti-yojana

General Grant-in-Aid Scheme for innovative projects https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/general-grant-aid-scheme-innovative-projects

Gender Budgeting Scheme : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/gender-budgeting-scheme

Grant-in-Aid for Research, Publication and Monitoring : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/grant-aid-research-publication-and-monitoring

General Grant-in-aid (GIA) Scheme for Assistance to Voluntary Organisations in the field of Women and Child Development : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/general-grant-aid-gia-scheme-assistance-voluntary-organisations-field-women-and-child

General Grant-in-Aid Scheme in the field of Women and Child Development : https://wcd.nic.in/schemes/general-grant-aid-scheme-field-women-and-child-development

Article by:

Aishwarya Dorwekar

Team Legal Prudent